Wellcome Trust 4-year PhD Interdisciplinary Programme


in Structural, Computational and Chemical Biology

at UCL | Birkbeck | Francis Crick Institute


A list of supervisors for the interdisciplinary PhD programme are available below. Three rotation projects are chosen in the first year. At the end of the first year students choose one project for their PhD research. Further information about the programme structure is available.


Rotation projects and PhD research projects

Full details of rotation projects for 2016 entry will be sent to successful candidates in August 2016. Examples of previously offered rotation projects and PhD projects can be found on the Programme Structure page.

Further details about research interests are available on the individual research pages of supervisors.

Potential project supervisors

Potential PhD project supervisors include the following academic staff. Further information about potential supervisors is provided in the 'how to apply' section.

Structural, Molecular and Cell Biology and Biophysics Computational Biology Chemical Biology
Kristine Arnvig, UCL Jürg Bähler, UCL Erik Arstad, UCL
Tracey Barrett, Birkbeck Peter Coveney, UCL James Baker, UCL
Paul Bates, Francis Crick Institute David Jones, UCL Sanjib Bhakta, Birkbeck
Emmanuel Boucrot, Birkbeck/ UCL Nicholas Luscombe, UCL Francesco Gervasio, UCL
Kate Bowers, UCL Andrew Martin, UCL Helen Hailes, UCL
Frances Brodsky, UCL Irilenia Nobeli, Birkbeck Stefan Howorka, UCL
Filipe Cabreiro, Birkbeck/ UCL Christine Orengo, UCL Derek Macmillan, UCL
Alan Cheung, UCL Adrian Shepherd, Birkbeck Charles Marson, UCL
John Christodoulou, Birkbeck/ UCL Willie Taylor, Francis Crick Institute David Selwood, UCL
Alessandro Costa, Francis Crick Institute Maya Topf, Birkbeck Tom Sheppard, UCL
Snezana Djordjevic, UCL Mark Williams, Birkbeck Alethea Tabor, UCL
Ivan Gout, UCL   Konstantinos Thalassinos, Birkbeck/ UCL
Flemming Hansen, UCL   Katherine Thompson, Birkbeck
Richard Hayward, Birkbeck/ UCL   Salvador Tomas, Birkbeck
Matilda Katan-Muller, UCL    
Christopher Kay, UCL    
Nicholas Keep, Birkbeck
David Lomas, UCL    
Alan Lowe, Birkbeck/ UCL  
Amandine Maréchal, UCL    
Neil McDonald, Francis Crick Institute    
Justin Molloy, Francis Crick Institute    
Carolyn Moores, Birkbeck    
Elena Orlova, UCL    
Andrew Osborne, Birkbeck/ UCL  
Steve Perkins, UCL
Vitor Pinheiro, Birkbeck/ UCL  
Saul Purton, UCL  
Andres Ramos, UCL  
Peter Rich, UCL    
Katrin Rittinger, Francis Crick Institute    
Anthony Roberts, Birkbeck    
Helen Saibil, Birkbeck    
Joanne Santini, UCL    
Renos Savva, Birkbeck    
Elizabeth Shephard, UCL
Steve Smerdon, Francis Crick Institute    
Kaila Srai, UCL    
Thomas Surrey, Francis Crick Institute    
Andrea Townsend-Nicholson, UCL    
Jernej Ule, UCL    
Cara Vaughan, Birkbeck/ UCL    
Gabriel Waksman, Birkbeck/ UCL    
Bonnie Wallace, Birkbeck    
John Ward, UCL    
Finn Werner, UCL    
Giulia Zanetti, Birkbeck    


This page last modified 26 August, 2016 by the Webmaster



Total internal reflection fluorescence microscopy (TIRFM) enables individual fluorophores to be observed in aqueous solution and inside living cells. Dr Justin Molloy, Francis Crick Institute